University Council MINUTES April 7, 2021 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM

Via Webex

Event number (access code): 120 788 8508 Event password: UC_Spring2021 Dial-in number: 1-855-797-9485

Members:

Waded Cruzado, Kenning Arlitsch, Sreekala Bajwa, Janelle Booth, Michael Brody, Matt Caires, Jason Carter, Leon Costello, Chris Dobbs, Ariel Donohue, Tracy Ellig, Chris Fastnow, Stephanie Gray, Jeannette Grey-Gilbert, Brett Gunnink, Alison Harmon, Deborah Haynes, Robert Hawks, Stefani Hicswa, Whitney Hinshaw, Yves Idzerda, Chris Kearns, Greg Kegel, Chere LeClair, Ilse-Mari Lee, Terry Leist, Bob Mokwa, Chris Murray, Kim Obbink, Craig Ogilvie, Kellie Peterson, Mark Ranalli, Sarah Shannon, Royce Smith, Dan Stevenson, Cody Stone, Michael Trotter, Michael Vasquez, Amber Vestal, Susan Wolff

I. Call to Order Provost Bob Mokwa

Provost Mokwa called the meeting to order at 8:30am.

II. Approval of Minutes for March 3, 2020

Jason Carter moved to approve minutes; Chris Dobbs seconded, and the minutes were approved unanimously.

III. University Wide Information/Announcements Provost Bob Mokwa

Provost Mokwa shared his gratitude for navigating a remarkable year. May 1 will be commencement at Bobcat Stadium. Provost Mokwa thanked Dean & CEO Susan Wolff for her service to GFC MSU for over nine years. Provost Mokwa also shared thanks to outgoing ASMSU President Michael Vasquez, Faculty Senate Chair Michael Brody, All Staff Council Chair Whitney Hinshaw, and AFMSU representative Chere LeClair.

IV. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

- V. Old Item
 - A. University Leave of Absence and Retroactive Withdrawal Policy Revision *Jennifer Glad, Associate Legal Counsel; Matt Caires, Dean of Students*

Proposing three avenues retroactive withdrawal policy to include voluntary medical leave of absence and involuntary leave of absence policy. They have done broad outreach across campus and engagement has been high and supportive of the revision to this policy. This policy was approved unanimously by University Council.

VI. Informational Items

A. OneMSU Network presentation

Stephanie Gray, Gallatin College MSU; Dr. Vicki Trier, City College MSU Billings; and Dr. Susan Wolff, Great Falls College MSU

Two-year institutions received COVID funding and OneMSU Network was created by Great Falls College MSU, Gallatin College and City College. GEAR funding received in August 2020.

Vicki Trier shared the collaboration of the three colleges for the respiratory therapy program in the fall.

Susan Wolff shared they would like to increase FTE in our prerequisite courses and leads to development of a one-year CAS for health care prerequisites.

B. NSF Research Rankings

Dr. Jason Carter, Vice President for Research, Economic Development & Graduate Education

MSU ranked in top 100 of National Science Foundation Higher Education Research and Development survey.

VII. Updates

MSU Billings Update: Stefani Hicswa thanked Susan Wolff for being an awesome colleague. She thanked Vicki Trier. Ed Harding will serve as the intern Dean for the college of busines as they continue their provost search.

MSU Northern Update: Greg Kegel thanked Susan Wolff for her leadership. Students, faculty and staff have been outstanding through the pandemic. He's been walking across campus and engaging in classrooms to thank students, faculty staff and students. They will hold two commencement ceremonies. They had their first football game last Saturday at their new stadium.

Great Falls College MSU update: Susan Wolff thanked everyone for a tremendous nine years. She's grateful for the support and the family that she's gained is truly wonderful. Dr. Stephanie Erdmann has been hired and she's a terrific addition to our system.

Chief Kevin Gillilan introduced Samuel Bogan as the new Director of Emergency Management. Sam is grateful to serve and is excited to hit the ground with his new responsibilities.

University Council adjourned at 9:30am.

NOTE: The next University Council meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, August 11, 2021, from 8:30 AM - 10:00 AM.