## University Council MINUTES Wednesday, September 3, 2014 8:30 AM – 10:00 AM 233 SUB

Waded Cruzado, Daniel Adams, Kenning Arlitsch, Kregg Aytes, Jeff Bader, Matt Caires, Kari Cargill, Nancy Cornwell, David Court, Dennis Defa, Glenn Duff, Tracy Ellig, Chris Fastnow, Peter Fields, Destini French, Liz Greenfield, Kate Grimes, Brett Gunnink, Maggie Hammett, Robert Hawks, Bob Hietala, Karlene Hoo, Chris Kearns, Bob Lashaway, Ilse-Mari Lee, Terry Leist, Shelley McKamey, Helen Melland, Chris Murray, Kim Obbink, Mark Nook, Renee Reijo Pera, Martha Potvin, Nicol Rae, Lynda Ransdell, Michael Reidy, Jerry Sheehan, Leslie Taylor, Susan Wolff

I. Call to Order President Waded Cruzado

President Waded Cruzado called the meeting to order.

II. Approval of Minutes for August 6, 2014

Minutes were approved unanimously.

III. University Wide Information/Announcements

President Cruzado introduced MSU's new Director for the Office of Institutional Equity, Kate Grimes.

IV. New Items

There were no new items up for discussion.

V. Old Items

There were no old items up for discussion.

- VI. Informational Items
  - A. New Freshman Housing Complex Tom Stump, Director, Auxiliary Services Tammie Brown, Chief Housing Officer Andy Allen, Facilities Project Manager

Tom Stump and Tammie Brown presented a PowerPoint presentation illustrating the design and features of the new Freshman Housing Complex. The official groundbreaking will take place on Thursday, September 11<sup>th</sup> at 4:00 PM.

B. ADA, Online Learning and Technology Brenda York, Director, Disability, Re-entry & Veteran Services

Brenda York presented on Electronic Information Technology Accessibility (EITA) at MSU. Stemming from an Office of Civil Rights Complaint at University of Montana, MSU is evaluating the technology based tools and methods currently used on campus. These include: Classrooms, Smart Podiums, Document Cameras, Webcams, Projection, I-clickers, Smart Pens, Web Conference and various Software programs. Brenda offered a series of new recommendations. She received comments from Kim Obbink, Nancy Cornwell, Jerry Sheehan and Kregg Aytes.

## VII. Updates

Each member of University Council provided a brief update about his or her department.

## VIII. Public Comment

No public comment was offered.