Research Council Minutes Thursday, January 3, 2013 2:00-3:00 p.m. 214 Hamilton Hall

McCoy, Tom	Jutila, Mark	Shaw, Joe
Bird, Elizabeth	Larsson, Laura	Stewart, Phil
Cloninger, Mary	Lawrence, Martin	Whitlock, Cathy
Gee, Regina	Leary, Myleen	Potvin, Martha
Hardy, Michele	Melland, Helen	Fox, Carl
Hays, Rick	Ruff, William	Larsen, Ron
Myers, Carrie (PC)		Rimpau, Jim

I.Call to Order

II.Approval of Minutes: tabled to January 17 meeting

III.Information/Announcements

IV. Topics for Discussion

- MSU Strategic Plan
 - o Members reviewed latest version of Academic Strategic Plan as well as updates to the Discovery Section of the MSU Strategic Plan
 - VPR will present updated version of the Research Strategic Plan at next meeting
- Process for prioritization of research focus areas
 - o RC subcommittee formed:
 - Joe Shaw, chair
 - Regina Gee
 - Michele Hardy
 - Elizabeth Bird
 - Laura Larsson
 - Cathy Whitlock
 - Myleen Leary
 - Martin Lawrence
 - Ron Larsen
- Criteria for allocation of research lab space
 - o RC subcommittee formed:
 - Michele Hardy, chair
 - Phil Stewart
 - Mark Jutila
 - Bill Ruff
 - Helen Melland
 - Mary Cloninger
 - Regina Gee
 - Myleen Leary

Next Meeting: Thursday, January 17, 2013, from 2:00-3:00 p.m. in 214 Hamilton Hall