## **Academic Council**

Minutes: Friday, November 15, 2019

9:30-11:30 am: President's Conference Room

Voting Members					
Х	Robert Mokwa - Provost	Х	Sreekala Bajwa – COA	Х	Royce Smith- COAA
Х	Alison Harmon- EHHD	Х	Stephanie Gray- GC	Х	Craig Ogilvie-Graduate School
	Ilse-Mari Lee- Honors College	Х	Mark Ranalli- JJCBE	Х	Nicol Rae- CLS
Х	Kenning Arlitsch- Library		Brett Gunnink- NACOE	Х	Sarah Shannon- CON
	Jason Carter- VPREDGE	Х	Matthew Caires- VPSS Designee		Eric Austin- Faculty Senate
	Other Members				
	David Singel – Senior Vice Provost		Tami Eitle- Vice Provost	Х	Deborah Haynes- Acting Vice Provost
	Chris Dobbs- MOR		Kim Obbink – Academic Technology	Х	Ambika Murali- ASMSU
Х	Martin Teintze- WWAMI				
	Other Participants in Attendance				
Х	Jeff Heys- ChBE	Х	David Weide- ARL	Χ	Alison Wynhoff-Olsen- English
Х	Ariel Donohue- Diversity/Inclusion	Χ	Becca Belou- Planning/Analysis		

## Be Respectful

Be Aware

Be Supportive

- I. Call to order:
- II. Approval of Minutes from September 13, 2019: Royce Smith moved for approval, Sarah Shannon seconded. Approved.
- III. Academic Items:
  - **A.** Intent to Plan: Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering Jeff Heys: Mark Ranalli moved for approval, Kenning Arlitsch seconded. Approved.
  - **B.** Level I: Master of Arts in English, English Education Option Allison Wynhoff-Olsen: Nic Rae moved for approval, Kenning Arlitsch seconded. Approved.
  - **C.** Level II: Consolidate and merge the Department of Cell Biology and Neuroscience and the Department of Microbiology and Immunology: Sreekala Bajwa moved for approval; Mark Ranalli seconded. Approved.
- IV. Topics for Discussion:
  - A. Budget Model- Megan Lasso, Becca Belou (20 minutes)
  - B. Campus Climate Survey- Ariel Donohue, Becca Belou (20 Minutes)
- V. Announcements:
  - A. Overview of New Postsecondary Educational Program/Center/Institute Process- Provost Mokwa
- VI. Next Meeting: December 6, 2019 (9:30-11:30 am, Montana Board Room, NACOE)