Academic Council

Agenda: Friday, April 22,2022

9:30-11:30 am: Montana Board Room, Norm Asbjornson Hall.

Voting Members					
х	Robert Mokwa - Provost	Х	Sreekala Bajwa – COA	Х	Royce Smith- COAA
х	Alison Harmon- EHHD	Х	Stephanie Gray- GC	Х	Craig Ogilvie-Graduate School
х	Ilse-Mari Lee- Honors College	Х	Dan Miller- JJCBE		Yves Idzerda- CLS
Х	Kenning Arlitsch- Library	х	Brett Gunnink- NACOE	Х	Sarah Shannon- MRJCON
Х	Kristof Zaba- International Programs		Matthew Caires- VPSS Designee		Bradford Watson- Faculty Senate
	Jason Carter- VPREDGE				
	Other Members				
	Carina Beck- Vice Provost- AYCSS	Х	Durward Sobek- Vice Provost		Steve Swinford- Vice Provost
	Chris Dobbs- MOR		Kim Obbink – ATO	Х	Ellie Jackson- ASMSU
Х	Martin Teintze- WWAMI				
	Other Participants in Attendance				
Х	Michael Brody- Faculty Senate	Х	Chris Fastnow- OPA		

Be Respectful

Be Aware

Be Supportive

- I. Call to order
- II. Approval of Minutes from February 11, 2022: Royce Smith moved for approval, Ilse-Mari Lee seconded, approved.
- III. Academic Items:
 - **A.** 2010-LI0422: Level I: Graduate Certificate in Artificial Intelligence: Brett Gunnink/Craig Ogilvie: Royce Smith moved for approval, Sarah Shannon, seconded, approved. Move to PEC
 - **B.** 2011-LI0422: Level I: Graduate Certificate of Teaching Science in STEM: Craig Ogilvie: More information has been requested, will return for further discussion.
 - **C.** 2012-LI0422: Level I: Graduate Certificate in Applied Economic Analysis: Sreekala Bajwa/Craig Ogilvie: Brett Gunnink moved for approval, Ilse-Mari Lee seconded, approved. Move to PEC
 - **D.** 2013-LI0422: Level I: Moratorium-Bachelor of Science in Sustainable Food and Bioenergy Systems- Sustainable Livestock Production: Sreekala Bajwa: Royce Smith moved for approval, Alison Harmon seconded, approved. Move to PEC
 - **E.** 2014-LI0422: Level II: Department name change from Military Aerospace Studies to Military Air and Space Studies: Ilse-Mari Lee moved for approval, Alison Harmon seconded, approved. Move to PEC.

IV. Policies for Discussion:

- A. Faculty Responsibilities: Brett Gunnink moved for approval, Dan Miller seconded, approved with one abstention.
- B. Sabbaticals: Brett Gunnink moved for approval, Royce Smith seconded, approved.

V. Announcements:

- A. Jennifer Thomson has been elected Faculty Senate Chair-Elect for AY 22-23.
- **B.** There will be no Academic Council in May.
- **C.** COAA Deans Gallery will be hosting a visiting artist this evening. From 4:00-6:00 pm.
- D. Friday, April 29, 2022, at 4:00 pm, 3-minute thesis competition in Procrastinator Theater.

Next Meeting: September; 9:30 am- 11:30 am; Montana Board Room, NAH